I want to write science fiction stories

I am a scientist and I love science, medicine, drugs, technology and learning about their use and mis-use. I wrote two stories last year using science as a base and I enjoyed doing it. Two different subjects and quite different stories.

Then I ran out of ideas. I surprised myself that the well of imagination was dry. Why?

long DNA colourI did research in two or three new areas that I have some knowledge of so that I would be up to date in those fields. The research excited me and thrilled me with possibilities. I spent ages online and printed off lots of useful background and even drew up a list of possible story plots.

But my pen wouldn’t write about them.

  • what if my science was rubbish?
  • what if the story had already been written by someone else?
  • what if my story was so scientific it was boring?

But when it comes down to it, why don’t I just write it and then ask those questions? Not all of my stories are boring so why should these ones be? aaarrgghhh

Resolution for February 2016 – write at least one science fiction story. And don’t be such a wimp.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under competitions, deadlines, fiction, flash fiction, judgement, new year resolution, Sci-fi, Science fiction, short stories, short story, Uncategorized, winning, writing, Writing problem, writing resources

Leave a Reply

