Flash Fiction – why not?

flash fiction

I like short short stories and today I wrote my first 100-word story for a competition. It was great fun and it reminded me of some of the writing exercises we have done in workshops. There’s nothing like a deadline and a prompt to get me writing.

I think I should always have some urgency to write because I produce words more readily under pressure. Well, here’s hoping my foray into short short stories will prove fruitful in 2016.

I must thank Cathy Bryant for her super site cathyscompsandcalls. Already I have had a success with one of my stories being accepted for publication in one of the literary journals that Cathy recommended in her list of opportunities for writers. Thanks Cathy!

After submitting over 50 entries for magazines and competitions in 2015 I am hoping to up my success rate this year. And in January I saw my first little success, so that bodes well. Thanks especially to Linda, my writing buddy who keeps me on the right track, and who has seen her own measure of success rise too.

Onwards and upwards, I say.

Linda and I are off to Durhamhill for one of their marvellous residential writing courses in March. Really looking forward to that!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under competitions, deadlines, fiction, flash fiction, new year resolution, short stories, short story, Uncategorized, winning, writing, writing courses, writing resources

Leave a Reply

