Surprisingly impressed by Robert Galbraith

Sitting here in the hot Turkish sun I have surprised myself by enjoying the writing of J K Rowling in the Robert Galbraith novel ‘The Cuckoo’s Calling’ from 2013.  A friend pressed the book on to me, recommending it. And I find the quality of the writing delightful, the character development colourful and compelling. I want to know what happens next.

It’s easy to dismiss JKR as a writer of children’s books and I was very unimpressed with ‘The Casual Vacancy’, which I found over-complex and didn’t like any of the multitude of characters. But this one is a gem. And I’m not even a crime book reader.

I shall be trawling the online Edinburgh library shelves for more crime, I think, from Robert Galbraith while I am reading for the next few weeks in Turkey.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

